LibGuides: Medical Assisting: Home

Online Reference & eBooks

Credo Health & Medicine Reference
A virtual reference collection that includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, images, audio files, and videos in a wide expanse of health and medical subject areas.
Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health
Topics iclude body systems and functions, conditions and common diseases, issues and theories, techniques and practices, and devices and equipment. Also discusses the roles of all major health professionals.
Still Broken: Understanding the U. S. Health Care System
Describes the way our health system works and the forces that produced the monumental problems that we face today. The book demonstrates that only a solution with a large public-sector role can lead us to real health reform.

Test Prep & Career Resources

Medical/Nursing Test Prep
Careers within the medical and nursing industry are some of the fastest growing and rewarding careers. Some healthcare careers require education, hands-on training, and certification exams. This site provides practice tests to help you prepare for the certification exam.
Career Outlook: Medical Assistants
Career overview from Occupational Outlook Handbook.
What is a Medical Assistant?
Career information from American Association of Medical Assistants

Medical Assisting

Medical Assistant graduate on the job

Allied Health students practicing skills

Certified Nursing Assistants

Medical Assisting Lab Class

Health and Medical Information Databases

Gale Interactive: Human Anatomy This link opens in a new window
Gale Interactive: Human Anatomy is an innovative learning aid that allows students to examine virtual 3D dissections and immerse themselves in interactive research.
Stat!Ref This link opens in a new window Reference titles for allied health; useful in clinical, classroom, and professional settings.
Anatomy.TV This link opens in a new window STAT!Ref's new A & P tool is provided by the North Carolina Community Colleges System Office and provides 3D interactive videos, narrated animations, extensive anatomy and physiology content, common clinical conditions, case studies, and quizzes.
Gale Access Database Collection This link opens in a new window
The Gale Access collection of databases includes more than 50 databases covering a wide range of topics. The hyperlink will take you to the subject collection of these databases to begin your search.

ProQuest Health Administration

Clinical research plus consumer and health administration titles. Includes over 1,300 full-text publications are available. Includes, charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements essential to medical research.

ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Database

Provides users with reliable healthcare information covering nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, and much more. This versatile database includes journals, videos, reference books and other resources designed to meet the needs of researchers at nursing and allied health programs.

ProQuest Consumer Health Database

This covers an enormous range of subjects from sports injuries to women's health, from food and nutrition to midwifery, from eye care to dentistry and includes important general medical journals as well as a strong selection of consumer and news magazines.

CINAHL Plus with Full text

This robust collection of full-text nursing & allied health journals is a core research tool for all areas of allied health and nursing. It provides full-text articles for more than 760 of the most used journals dating as far back as 1937.

ProQuest Public Health Database

This database allows you to search the core literature in the field of public health. Includes over 500 full-text publications and 9,000 full-text dissertations.

ProQuest Healthcare Administration

Research supporting professional healthcare management and healthcare administration. Includes 800 journals and 4,500 dissertations.

Films on Demand: Health & Medicine Collection

Documentaries on the full spectrum of diseases and disorders; titles on human anatomy and physiology; investigations into public health issues; programming on nutrition and wellness; instructional films on health care and treatment; primers on careers in health and medicine—this comprehensive collection of titles covers the wide range of topics relevant to anyone studying health and medicine.

Trusted Web Sites

PCC Medical Assisting

Click the heading above for description and requirements for PCC Medical Assisting programs.

American Association of Medical Assistants
Provide medical assistant professionals with education, certification, networking opportunities, and advocacy for quality patient-centered health care.
Merck Medical Pronunciations
Unsure of how to pronounce medical terms? Just use this tool from the Merck Manuals Online Medical Library. You will need audio capability on your computer to use this site. No new page will display when you click on a word. Just wait a second and you will hear the pronunciation of the term on your speakers or headphones.
Medline Plus
Information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand. Learn about the latest treatments, look up information on a drug or supplement, find out the meanings of words, or view medical videos or illustrations. You can also get links to the latest medical research on your topic or find out about clinical trials on a disease or condition.
Lab Tests Online
Lab Tests Online is an award-winning health information web resource designed to help patients and caregivers understand the many lab tests that are a vital part of medical care.
Center for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
CDC increases the health security of our nation. Whether diseases start at home or abroad, are chronic or acute, curable or preventable, human error or deliberate attack, CDC fights disease and supports communities and citizens to do the same.
HIV InSite
HIV InSite is a comprehensive, in-depth source for HIV/AIDS information and knowledge.
National Institutes of Health (NIH)
Fosters fundamental creative discoveries, innovative research strategies, and their applications as a basis for ultimately protecting and improving health, prevent disease and lengthen life.
Pub Med
PubMed is a free resource that is developed and maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH).
Merck Manual Professional Edition
Explains disorders, their symptoms, how they're diagnosed, and how they can be prevented or treated. Health information is a universal right and every person is entitled to accurate, accessible and usable medical information.
Health Insurance Definitions
Provided by US News & World Report also includes pertinent healthcare information.
Agency for Healthcare Research & Quality
he Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) is the lead Federal agency charged with improving the safety and quality of America's health care system. AHRQ develops the knowledge, tools, and data needed to improve the health care system and help Americans, health care professionals, and policymakers make informed health decisions.
NC Health Info
UNC-Chapel Hill created NC Health Info as a consumer online guide to quality, reliable, and easy-to-understand health & medical information.
National Institute of Mental Health
Symptoms, diagnosis, and treatment of various mental illnesses. Includes brochures, information sheets, reports, press releases, and fact sheets.
North Carolina Division of Public Health
Information on health precautions, links to local health departments, how to get birth certificates.
State Center for Health Statistics
Health-related research and reports and a collection of health statistics.

Medical Assisting: Home