LibGuides: Early Childhood Education: Home

Images

Online Periodicals and eBooks

Influencing Early Childhood Education
This book explores the thinking and ideas of a range of figures and movements which have influenced the development of early childhood education. The ideas are placed in an historical context and connections between them are identified.
Wired to Move: Facts and Strategies for Nurturing Boys in Early Childhood Settings
Learn what makes boys tick (and run and jump and yell), and discover how to actively engage the boys in your early childhood classroom with simple, effective strategies that support boys’ learning.
Real Classroom Makeovers
Learning environments are an important topic as more and more teachers try to make their classrooms into places that support and inspire learning. Using "before" and "after" pictures of real early childhood classrooms, this book shows early childhood teachers how small changes can transform their classrooms into wondrous environments for children to learn and grow.
When Nothing Else Works
Research shows that children do not outgrow challenging behavior, making early intervention essential. The book is filled with creative strategies and techniques to address and adjust problematic behavior in the classroom while also promoting resilience and active engagement in learning.

Research Databases

ERIC is the largest education database in the world-containing over 1.5 million records of journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, dissertations and theses, and books. In addition to the journal literature, ERIC indexes education-related materials from a variety of sources, including scholarly organizations, professional associations, research centers, policy organizations, university presses, the U.S. Department of Education and other federal agencies, and state and local agencies. Individual contributors submit conference papers, research papers, dissertations, and theses.

ProQuest Research Companion

Self-guided product that supports information literacy, writing, and research skills. Includes ten Learning Modules and five interactive tools – all designed to automate the key elements of the research process.

ProQuest Education Database

Supports research on the theory and practice of education, including early childhood. Includes 1,157 full text journals.

Films on Demand: Education Collection

Access more than 15,000 education videos including award winning documentaries, interviews, and instructional training videos.

Credo Reference: Education

Full text access to more than 20 key education reference books and encyclopedias.

ProQuest EBook Central

One of the largest general reference collections of periodical and digital media content. Researchers will find more than 1,700 full text magazines, newspapers and books plus a collection of 7 million maps, pictures, weblinks, and audio/video files.

Learning Express Library Complete and PrepSTEP Academic

Practice tests, interactive tutorials, and ebooks for students adult learners. Includes practices tests such as GED, GRE, SAT, TEAS, and supports those looking to improve core academic skills, pass a high school equivalency test, prepare for college, join the military, obtain occupational certification, find a job, change careers, become a U.S. citizen and much more.

Consumer Health Database

This Proquest database includes journals and magazines covering an enormous range of health subjects and child development.

ProQuest Psychology Database

Journal and research articles, charts, graphs, tables and other graphical elements essential for psychological research. Includes content on behavioral and developmental psychology, neurology, personality development and social psychology.

Open Education North Carolina Collection

A cost saving initiative that provides free access to open source textbooks for the 30 most frequently taught courses in North Carolina’s 2 and 4 year colleges.

ProQuest Social Science Database

Provides extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including education, childhood, child development, child welfare and much more.

Gale Access Database Collection This link opens in a new window
The Gale Access collection of databases includes more than 50 databases covering a wide range of topics. The hyperlink will take you to the subject collection of these databases to begin your search.

Trusted Websites

PCC Early Childhood Education

Click the heading above for description and requirements for the PCC Early Childhood Education program.

North Carolina early Childhood Foundation
The mission of the North Carolina Early Childhood Foundation (NCECF) is to marshal North Carolina’s great people, ideas and achievements to build a foundation of opportunity and success for every child by the end of third grade.
N.C. Division of Child Development & Early Education
North Carolina boasts one of the highest rates of working mothers with young children in the nation, making the availability of quality child care essential for the State's economic development and stability. The creation of the Division in 1993 reflected the growing importance of child care to North Carolina families and the role of the state in ensuring quality standards and access for families to child care services.
Early Childhood by Ed Central
Early childhood is the period where children grow and develop more rapidly than at any other time in their lives.
North Carolina State Data Center
Includes population, economic, and income data as well as county profiles and rankings.
Scholastic Early Childhood Today
Scholastic books and educational materials encourage the intellectual and personal growth of all children beginning with literacy.
National Association for the Education of Young Children (NAEYC)
The National Association for the Education of Young Children (NAEYC) works to promote high-quality early learning for all young children, birth through age 8, by connecting early childhood practice, policy, and research. We support all who care for, educate, and work on behalf of young children.
Childcare Aware of America
We advance a child care system that effectively serves all children and families. The child care system supports children’s growth, development and educational advancement and creates positive economic impact for families and communities.
Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD)
We naturally think of a child’s growth as height and weight, but from birth to 5 years, a child should reach milestones in how he or she plays, learns, speaks and acts. A delay in any of these areas could be a sign of ASD or other developmental disability. Understanding the risk factors that make a person more likely to develop autism spectrum disorder (ASD) will help us learn more about the causes.
Child Care & Early Education Research Connections
Child Care & Early Education Research Connections, launched in 2004, promotes high quality research in child care and early education and the use of that research in policy making. Our vision is that children are well cared for and have rich learning experiences, and their families are supported and able to work.