LibGuides: Criminal Justice: Home

Online Reference and eBooks

Encyclopedia of American Law and Criminal Justice
Encyclopedia of American Law and Criminal Justice is a useful reference book and a research tool. It provides answers to basic questions about what police do or what rights those accused of crimes have.
Credo Reference: Criminal Justice
A virtual reference collection that includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, images, audio files, and videos on a wide expanse of topics in the realm of criminal justice.
Implementing Juvenile Justice Reform: The Federal Role
Heightened by the awareness of the ineffectiveness of punitive practices and accumulating knowledge about adolescent development., the momentum for juvenile justice reform is growing. States are looking to the federal government for guidance. This book outlines seven hallmarks that should be incorporated into the policies and practices guiding the strategic plan of reform
Encyclopedia of Gangs
The spread of gangs from urban to suburban areas of the U.S. and beyond ensures that the topic of gangs is continually developing and producing questions. This encyclopedia provides information on four major areas: gang theory, gang practices, gang types and gang expansion.
Support for Forensic Science Research: Improving the Role of the National Institute of Justice
Reliable and valid forensic science analytic techniques are critical to a credible, fair, and evidence-based criminal justice system. There is widespread agreement that the scientific foundation of some currently available forensic science methods needs strengthening and that additional, more efficient techniques are urgently needed. These needs can only be met with government support and research.
Understanding Mass Incarceration
We all know that orange is the new black and mass incarceration is the new Jim Crow, but how much do we actually know about the structure, goals, and impact of our criminal justice system? Understanding Mass Incarceration offers the first comprehensive overview of the incarceration apparatus put in place by the world’s largest jailer: the United States. This book describes the many competing theories of criminal justice—from rehabilitation to retribution, from restorative justice to justice reinvestment.

Pictures

Criminal Justice Research Databases

ProQuest Central

ProQuest Central is the largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete, multidisciplinary, databases across all major subject areas.

Criminal Justice Database is a comprehensive, international, database supporting research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends.

Ferguson's Career Guidance Center

Ferguson's is the premier resource in the career education field. The acclaimed Ferguson's titles—including eBooks and a reference database—provide comprehensive, up-to-date information on a wide variety of career fields, as well as guidance on essential career skills and professional resources.

CQ Researcher

CQ Researcher provides in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day. Reports are footnoted and professionally fact-checked. Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research. Graphics, photos and short "sidebar" features round out the reports. Shorter "Hot Topics" articles provide a solid introduction to subjects most in demand such as Crime & Policing, Drugs, Gun Control, Death Penalty and more.

SIRS Issue Researcher

Provides pro/con treatment of current issues, including topics related to criminal justice.

Criminal Justice Collection from Films On Demand

Comprehensive videos and video segments that discuss the three components of criminal justice; law enforcement, courts, and corrections as well as other related topics.

Law Help NC

Provides helpful, easy-to-understand legal resources and information in North Carolina. Quick facts and frequently asked questions help low-income citizens understand their legal issue and solve their legal problems

ProQuest Social Science Database

Offers access to a variety of social science disciplines, including criminology. Includes over 1,300 full-text articles related to criminal justice.

Gale Access Database Collection This link opens in a new window
The Gale Access collection of databases includes more than 50 databases covering a wide range of topics. The hyperlink will take you to the subject collection of these databases to begin your search.

Trusted Web Sites

PCC Criminal Justice

Click the heading above for description and requirements for PCC Criminal Justice certificates and degrees.

Academy of Criminal Justice Sciences
The Academy of Criminal Justice Sciences (ACJS) is an international association established to foster professional and scholarly activities in the field of criminal justice. ACJS promotes criminal justice education, research, and policy analysis within the discipline of criminal justice for both educators and practitioners.
American Probation and Parole Association
The American Probation and Parole Association (APPA) is an international association composed of members from the United States, Canada and other countries actively involved with pretrial, probation, parole and community-based corrections, in both criminal and juvenile justice arenas. All levels of government including federal, state/provincial, local and tribal agencies are counted among its constituents.
American Society of Criminology
The American Society of Criminology is an international organization whose members pursue scholarly, scientific, and professional knowledge concerning the measurement, etiology, consequences, prevention, control, and treatment of crime and delinquency.
Crime and Justice Research Alliance
The Crime and Justice Research Alliance (CJRA) is a centralized resource of authoritative experts and scholarly studies created to provide policymakers, practitioners and the public direct access to relevant research on crime and criminal justice issues.
American Correctional Association
The American Correctional Association has championed the cause of corrections and correctional effectiveness, developed specifically for practitioners in the correctional profession.
American Academy of Forensic Sciences
The American Academy of Forensic Sciences is a multi-disciplinary professional organization that provides leadership to advance science and its application to the legal system. The objectives are to promote professionalism, integrity, competency, education, foster research, improve practice, and encourage collaboration in the forensic sciences.
National Sherriffs' Association
NSA is a non-profit organization dedicated to raising the level of professionalism among sheriffs, their deputies, and others in the field of criminal justice and public safety.
National Institute of Justice
NIJ is dedicated to improving knowledge and understanding of crime and justice issues through science. NIJ provides objective and independent knowledge and tools to inform the decision-making of the criminal justice community to reduce crime and advance justice, particularly at the state and local levels.
Federal Bureau of Investigation
The FBI is an intelligence-driven and threat-focused national security organization with both intelligence and law enforcement responsibilities. The dedicated cadre of professionals work around the clock and across the globe to protect the U. S.
UNC School of Government
The largest university-based local government training, advisory, and research
organization in the United States.
FBI - Uniform Crime Report
The Uniform Crime Reporting (UCR) Program has been the starting place for law enforcement executives, students of criminal justice, researchers, members of the media, and the public at large seeking information on crime in the nation.
Department of Homeland Security
DHS secures the nation from the many threats we face including preventing terrorism and enhancing security; managing our borders; administering immigration laws; securing cyberspace; and ensuring disaster resilience.
Crime in North Carolina
Provides reliable criminal statistics. Part of a national effort administered by the FBI.
North Carolina State Government Publications
Includes access to North Carolina crime statistics and full text access to current and historic state publications.