Skip to main content

Associate of Arts: Home

Research Databases

SIRS Issues Researcher

The best resource for information on current controversial global issues, analysis and opinions cover the pros, cons, and everything in between .  Content includes primary sources, multimedia, websites, critical thinking questions and essential questions with answers and viewpoints that help build a solid foundation for understanding complex global issues..

Gale Literature Resource Center

Find biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism, and reviews on nearly 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods, and from around the world.

NoveList  Plus

NoveList Plus is a comprehensive readers’ advisory resource that includes both fiction and nonfiction. You can find titles, articles, audiobooks and recommendations for a complete solution to your reading pleasure.

SIRS Renaissance

More than 1500 dynamic, full-text, domestic and international publications provide articles accompanied by full-color images, photographs and illustrations to deliver a current perspective on the Arts and Humanities

 

ProQuest Research Library

Access to highly respected full-text periodicals that include scholarly journals, professional and trade publications and magazines covering over 150 subjects and topics.

African-American Poetry

The early history of African American poetry from the first recorded poem in 1746 to the major poets of the nineteenth century.

ProQuest Art & Humanities

The contents reflect a full interdisciplinary contemporary study in the arts and humanities. Over 500 full-text scholarly and trade journals and consumer titles relevant to the visual and applied arts and cultural studies.

Gale Literary Sources

Search across Gale's resources to discover and analyze content and breathe new life into the study of literature. The collection includes full-text works, articles, critical essays, topic overviews and literary movements.

ProQuest History Study Center

A collection of primary and secondary sources from ancient times to the present. Includes study units for more than 500 popular topics as well maps, and full text historical documents.

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Searchable collection of online reference titles and test prep e-books.

American Poetry

You have access to over 40,000 poems by more than 200 American poets from the Colonial Period to the early 20th century.

Credo Reference

A premier virtual reference collection including encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, images, audio files, and videos in a wide expanse of subject areas.

Films on Demand

Thousands of high quality videos on humanities and social sciences, documentaries, interviews, and instructional videos.

NewsBank

More than 12,000 searchable titles covering local, national, and international news.

Research Tools

These Research Tools are provided by SIRS and focus on writing logical arguments, analyzing statistics, practicing critical thinking in research, working with and identifying primary sources, technically analyzing infographics, and interpreting messages in editorial cartoons.

Research Tips

MLA Style Center

Style guides and practice templates for various sources to ensure that your Works Cited page is correct.

Research Strategies & Tutorials from Georgetown University

15 Steps to good research with links to supporting information