LibGuides: Allied Health Resources: Home

Online Reference & eBooks

Credo Health & Medicine Reference
A virtual reference collection that includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, images, audio files, and videos in a wide expanse of health and medical subject areas.
Still Broken: Understanding the U. S. Health Care System
Describes the way our health system works and the forces that produced the monumental problems that we face today. The book demonstrates that only a solution with a large public-sector role can lead us to real health reform.
Dictionary of Dentistry
The Dictionary provides over 4,000 definitions covering all the important terms and concepts used in dentistry today. Many of the entries are supplemented by detailed line drawings.
The Three-Pound Enigma
Each chapter delves into a different aspect of the brain, following the experts as they chart new ground. Filled with fascinating case studies and featuring a timeline that tracks the development of the brain from conception to death

Test Prep

Medical/Nursing Test Prep
Careers within the medical and nursing industry are some of the fastest growing and rewarding careers. Some healthcare careers require education, hands-on training, and certification exams. This site provides practice tests to help you prepare for the certification exam.
ABRET Neurodiagnostic Credentialing and Accreditation
ABRET encourages and promotes quality technical and clinical standards world-wide for neurodiagnostic technologists and laboratories through certification and accreditation.

EDT Students practicing electrode measurements and placements

Medical Assistant graduate on the job

Allied Health students practicing skills

Certified Nursing Assistants

Medical Assisting Lab Class

Health and Medical Information Databases

Stat!Ref This link opens in a new window Reference titles for allied health; useful in clinical, classroom, and professional settings.
Anatomy.TV This link opens in a new window STAT!Ref's new A & P tool is provided by the North Carolina Community Colleges System Office and provides 3D interactive videos, narrated animations, extensive anatomy and physiology content, common clinical conditions, case studies, and quizzes.

Health & Medical Collection

Combines clinical research titles with hundreds of additional consumer and health administration titles including charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements essential to medical research.

ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Database

Provides users with reliable healthcare information covering nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, and much more. This versatile database includes journals, videos, reference books and other resources designed to meet the needs of researchers at nursing and allied health programs.

Consumer Health Database

Magazines and journals covering consumer health topics, such as sports injuries, women's health, food and nutrition, midwifery, eye care and dentistry.

CINAHL Plus with Full text

This robust collection of full-text nursing & allied health journals is a core research tool for all areas of allied health and nursing. It provides full-text articles for more than 760 of the most used journals dating as far back as 1937.

Lab Tests Online

Lab Tests Online is an award-winning health information web resource designed to help patients and caregivers understand the many lab tests that are a vital part of medical care

Health & Medicine Video Collection from Films on Demand

Documentaries on the full spectrum of diseases and disorders; titles on human anatomy and physiology; investigations into public health issues; programming on nutrition and wellness; instructional films on health care and treatment; primers on careers in health and medicine—this comprehensive collection of titles covers the wide range of topics relevant to anyone studying health and medicine.

NC Health Info

UNC-Chapel Hill created NC Health Info as a consumer online guide to quality, reliable, and easy-to-understand health and medical information.

Gale Access Database Collection

The Gale Access collection of databases includes more than 50 databases covering a wide range of topics. The hyperlink will take you to the subject collection of these databases to begin your search.

Gale Interactive: Human Anatomy This link opens in a new window
Gale Interactive: Human Anatomy is an innovative learning aid that allows students to examine virtual 3D dissections and immerse themselves in interactive research.

Trusted Web Sites

Medline Plus
Information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand. Learn about the latest treatments, look up information on a drug or supplement, find out the meanings of words, or view medical videos or illustrations. You can also get links to the latest medical research on your topic or find out about clinical trials on a disease or condition.
Center for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
CDC increases the health security of our nation. Whether diseases start at home or abroad, are chronic or acute, curable or preventable, human error or deliberate attack, CDC fights disease and supports communities and citizens to do the same.
HIV InSite
HIV InSite is a comprehensive, in-depth source for HIV/AIDS information and knowledge.
National Institutes of Health (NIH)
Fosters fundamental creative discoveries, innovative research strategies, and their applications as a basis for ultimately protecting and improving health, prevent disease and lengthen life.
Pub Med
PubMed is a free resource that is developed and maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH).
Merck Manual Professional Edition
Explains disorders, their symptoms, how they're diagnosed, and how they can be prevented or treated. Health information is a universal right and every person is entitled to accurate, accessible and usable medical information.
Health Insurance Definitions
Provided by US News & World Report also includes pertinent healthcare information.
Agency for Healthcare Research & Quality
he Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) is the lead Federal agency charged with improving the safety and quality of America's health care system. AHRQ develops the knowledge, tools, and data needed to improve the health care system and help Americans, health care professionals, and policymakers make informed health decisions.

Allied Health Resources: Home