Skip to main content

AccessNeurology: Navigating AccessNeurology

Books

In the Books tab in AccessNeurology, you will find some of the leading current, authoritative text resources. Check out the library at these links:

Complete Full-Text Library

Archived Textbooks

  • In the archived textbooks page, browse previous editions of textbooks or other books retired from the site. The archive provides access to older editions of textbooks hosted on AccessNeurology for purposes of reference.

Drugs

The Drug Monographs in AccessNeurology can be searched, browsed alphabetically, or filtered by generics, trade names, and drug classes. Patient education handouts also are available in English and Spanish. The drug monographs are updated every two weeks.

Multimedia

Interactive Neuroanatomy Atlas is an active learning module for assessing your knowledge of brain anatomy structures and their corresponding neural pathway functions. The Interactive Neuroanatomy Atlas is useful to medical, NP, and PA students to supplement neuroanatomy coursework, as well as residents looking to refresh their neuroanatomy knowledge.

Originally created by author John Martin while he was at Columbia, the tool has been completely recreated and updated in HTML5 and includes expanded structure labeling and the ability to toggle back and forth between showing and hiding labels which will help students' ability to quiz themselves.

The sections are in three planes: transverse, horizontal, and sagittal. Structures are color-coded to correspond with their associated sensory system displayed on the bottom left of the screen. The Interactive Neuroanatomy Atlas is linked to Martin's book on AccessNeurology, Neuroanatomy Text and Atlas, 4th edition. 

Author: John H. Martin, PhD, Sophie Davis School of Biomedical Education, CUNY School of Medicine, The City College of New York

Clinical Neuroanatomy Explained is an animated video lecture series narrated by Aaron L. Berkowitz, MD, PhD. Each episode focuses on a core topic for understanding the relationship between neuroanatomical structure and function using basic animation techniques and concise explanations. Each 5 - 10 minute video reveals fundamental neuroanatomy and clinical localization principles necessary to understand how to diagnose and treat patients with neurologic disease.

The instructional video series delivers a unique, blended learning approach to clinical neurology, and videos can be used on their own or to supplement corresponding chapters from the author’s textbook, Clinical Neurology and Neuroanatomy: A Localization-Based Approach, which has quickly established itself as a leading resource for both clerkship neurology students and first-year neurology residents.

AccessNeurology lectures are featured as downloadable PowerPoint presentations for study and group viewing. These lectures supplement Adams and Victor's Principles of Neurology and cover the following areas:

Check out the animations in AccessNeurology. Designed by BioDigital, these animations include explore tools that allow the user to select, hide, and fade specific structures in the brain, as well as pan and rotate the image and zoom in and out. The embedded anatomy search tool allows users to search for specific anatomical structures in the model by name or browse through all of the structures in the anatomy tree. These models can be shared through email and social media.

Two models are currently offered: 

Quick Reference

Quick Reference in AccessNeurology provides reference information for quick lookup, including:

2 Minute Medicine:

  • Expert physician publishing group founded out of Harvard Medical School that provides medical reports of breaking medical literature and seminal studies in medicine.
  • “Search Within” function is now featured within 2 Minute Medicine allowing users to quickly and easily find topics without scrolling through archives. Users can type directly within the search bar which utilizes auto-suggest which can be disabled if preferred.
  • Link to report and original article being reported on.
  • Reports are listed by most recent date.

Contact Us

For help, please reach out to User Services at McGraw Hill at userservices@mheducation.com

For institutional accounts:

  • Please reach out to User Services for help with a technical issue, an existing institutional subscription, a trial subscription, marketing materials, setting up a training session and more.

For individual subscribers:

  • For help with an individual subscription, please email Online Customer service (OnlineCustomer_Service@mheducation.com) between 8 a.m. and 5 p.m. EST. You may also call 1-888-307-5984 (toll free within the United States).

Feedback:

Cases

The Cases tab in AccessNeurology provides materials for short, targeted case-based learning. They vary slightly, but for each case you get a patient history and systems review, short answer questions, clinical pearls, and references. Cases are durable URL-enabled and can be embedded into a course LMS page. The results of the quizzes can be emailed and collected for a grade, e.g. student to instructor.

Cases can be generated from three texts in AccessNeurology:

Study Tools

The Study Tools tab in AccessNeurology provides: 

  • Review Questions texts which are great for self-assessment with review Q&A designed to help residents, clerks, and physicians. Users can generate random and custom quizzes, and the results can be emailed.
  • Residency Topics is a collection of focused readings from Adams and Victor’s Principles of Neurology selected to mirror a resident’s core milestones over a three-year rotation. The modules can be export to an LMS (.imscc export to LMS or .csv files) which will allow users to jump directly into the content in AccessNeurology. The modules also include hyperlinks to text resources from in the site.