Skip to main content

AccessNeurology: Choosing a Research Topic

Quick Reference

Quick Reference in AccessNeurology provides reference information for quick lookup, including:

2 Minute Medicine:

  • Expert physician publishing group founded out of Harvard Medical School that provides medical reports of breaking medical literature and seminal studies in medicine.
  • “Search Within” function is now featured within 2 Minute Medicine allowing users to quickly and easily find topics without scrolling through archives. Users can type directly within the search bar which utilizes auto-suggest which can be disabled if preferred.
  • Link to report and original article being reported on.
  • Reports are listed by most recent date.

Best Minds in Medicine

Best Minds in Medicine on AccessNeurology provides the user with insight from some of the leading experts and authors whose resources are made available in AccessNeurology. These interviews are designed to raise awareness of and bring to life the expert contributors to AccessNeurology and the other Access specialty products.

Literature

In the Books tab in AccessNeurology, you will find some of the leading current, authoritative text resources. Check out the library at these links:

  • Complete Full-Text Library 
  • Archived Textbooks
    • In the archived textbooks page, browse previous editions of textbooks or other books retired from the site. The archive provides access to older editions of textbooks hosted on AccessNeurology for purposes of reference.

Adams and Victor's Principles of Neurology, 11/e

  • The eleventh edition of Adams and Victor's Principles of Neurology is now live on AccessMedicine and AccessNeurology. First published by McGraw Hill in 1977, the namesake author of the original text was Raymond Adams, who chaired the MGH Department of Neurology for over 25 years and was widely regarded as the most pre-eminent American neurologist of the 20th century. Ray Adams was instrumental in founding the field of children's neurology in the early 1950s; was a key figure in the creation of the Eunice Kennedy Shriver Research Center for Mental Retardation; was elected fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences in 1955; and along with Australian neurologist James Waldo Lance, described posthypoxic myoclonus, later called Lance-Adams syndrome.

  • Adams and his cohort, Maurice Victor, began working together early in their careers at Boston City Hospital and co-author more than 100 papers together, along with the first six editions of this text. Maurice Victor was a distinguished neurologist in his own right and made important contributions to the understanding of neurological complications of alcoholism and malnutrition. 

  • Adams and Victor's Principles of Neurology has since become the most recognized foundational textbook in clinical neurology throughout the world. The eleventh edition covers important innovations in the treatment of neurologic conditions and new research and understanding of the genetic basis of neurologic disease, including:

    • Interventional therapies for acute ischemic stroke
    • Novel immunotherapies used to treat inflammatory and neoplastic conditions, and neurotoxicities associated with these drugs
    • New drugs to treat epilepsy and multiple sclerosis
    • Update of genetics of inherited metabolic disease
    • Current understanding of the genetics of primary nervous systemic malignancies and their bearing on treatment

Principles of Neural Science, 5/e 

Deciphering the link between the human brain and behavior has always been one of the most intriguing—and often challenging—aspects of scientific endeavor. The sequencing of the human genome, and advances in molecular biology, have illuminated the pathogenesis of many neurological diseases and have propelled our knowledge of how the brain controls behavior.

To grasp the wider implications of these developments and gain a fundamental understanding of this dynamic, fast-moving field, Principles of Neural Science stands alone as the most authoritative and indispensible resource of its kind.

In this classic text, prominent researchers in the field expertly survey the entire spectrum of neural science, giving an up-to-date, unparalleled view of the discipline for anyone who studies brain and mind. Here, in one remarkable volume, is the current state of neural science knowledge—ranging from molecules and cells, to anatomic structures and systems, to the senses and cognitive functions—all supported by more than 900 precise, full-color illustrations. In addition to clarifying complex topics, the book also benefits from a cohesive organization, beginning with an insightful overview of the interrelationships between the brain, nervous system, genes, and behavior. Principles of Neural Science then proceeds with an in-depth examination of the molecular and cellular biology of nerve cells, synaptic transmission, and the neural basis of cognition. The remaining sections illuminate how cells, molecules, and systems give us sight, hearing, touch, movement, thought, learning, memories, and emotions.

The new fifth edition of Principles of Neural Science is thoroughly updated to reflect the tremendous amount of research, and the very latest clinical perspectives, that have significantly transformed the field within the last decade.

Ultimately, Principles of Neural Science affirms that all behavior is an expression of neural activity, and that the future of clinical neurology and psychiatry hinges on the progress of neural science. Far exceeding the scope and scholarship of similar texts, this unmatched guide offers a commanding, scientifically rigorous perspective on the molecular mechanisms of neural function and disease—one that you’ll continually rely on to advance your comprehension of brain, mind, and behavior.

Features:

  • The cornerstone reference in the field of neuroscience that explains how the nerves, brain, and mind function
  • Clear emphasis on how behavior can be examined through the electrical activity of both individual neurons and systems of nerve cells
  • Current focus on molecular biology as a tool for probing the pathogenesis of many neurological diseases, including muscular dystrophy, Huntington disease, and certain forms of Alzheimer’s disease
  • More than 900 engaging full-color illustrations—including line drawings, radiographs, micrographs, and medical photographs clarify often-complex neuroscience concepts
  • Outstanding section on the development and emergence of behavior, including important coverage of
  • Links to Kandel Quarterly updates
  • Supplement with symbols and units of measurement

Kandel Quarterly provides users with some of the current emerging themes in neuroscience research

  • Quarterly updates to the neurology collection from Eric Kandel, author of Principles of Neural Science and winner of the Nobel Prize in 2000, and his author team. Every three months AccessNeurology users receive an extensive collection of well-written content from the best minds in basic and clinical neuroscience.  
  • The updates are based on themes in neurology literature, including from Nature, Science, Cell and Neuroscience.
  • Each update runs 1-2 pages in length. 
  • Update topics include: 

    • Revealing the structure of conceptual thoughts in the human brain
    • Synchronous oscillations in motor and sensory cortex impact memory
    • Modality dominance in sensory integration and perception
    • Phase separation in synapse compartmentalization and plasticity
    • Social experience which induces parallel changes in cortical sensory coding and behavior
    • Gap junctions to give motor neurons control over their own input
    • New insights into the coding of movement by the cerebellum
    • Discovery and characterization of large network of interacting cell surface molecules functioning in synaptic connectivity

Current Diagnosis & Treatment: Neurology

This Lange text provides practical, up-to-date strategies for assessing and managing the neurologic conditions most frequently seen in adults and children, including:

  • Introductory chapters address specific symptoms and diagnostic procedures; subsequent chapters are disease specific and adhere to a standard format, beginning with Essentials of Diagnosis, followed by Clinical Findings, Differential Diagnosis, Treatment, and Prognosis
  • Coverage of disorders in both adults and children
  • Thorough coverage of diagnostic tests and the very latest pharmacologic treatments
  • Practical information on common conditions such as headaches, movement disorders, and central nervous system infections
  • Valuable to anyone who sees patients with neurologic complaints, whether in primary care or the neurology clinic
  • Expert help with ischemic and hemorrhagic stroke, epilepsy, sleeping disorders, dizziness, hearing loss, dementia and memory loss, and more
  • Each chapter written by experts in that area, without losing readability or coherence

Contact Us

For help, please reach out to User Services at McGraw Hill at userservices@mheducation.com

For institutional accounts:

  • Please reach out to User Services for help with a technical issue, an existing institutional subscription, a trial subscription, marketing materials, setting up a training session and more.

For individual subscribers:

  • For help with an individual subscription, please email Online Customer service (OnlineCustomer_Service@mheducation.com) between 8 a.m. and 5 p.m. EST. You may also call 1-888-307-5984 (toll free within the United States).

Feedback:

Tips for Choosing a Topic

  • See what's new: Check out our panels on the AccessNeurology homepage to discover recently added and updated resources, to discover themes in neuroscience research from the Kandel Quarterly, view editorial-selected supplemental content from the AccessNeurology Channel, or find highlighted images and scans with relevant information from the site.
  • Browse our video collectionA unique multimedia library of neurology procedural and conceptual videos, including an extensive collection of videos on neurologic examinations and EEG monitoring.
  • Use the related links to explore further: Links to related AccessNeurology content appear throughout all content types in the site. A related content section appears in many of the texts' right sidebar with links to relevant media and other content.
  • Link to external content: Get additional sources from AccessNeurology. Use the references in our resources to find relevant research papers, books, and organizational websites.