Skip to main content

Pamlico Community College Library: Library Home

NEW RESOURCE!! -- Gale Interactive: Human Anatomy

Chat with a Librarian!

Contact the library during normal operating hours.

After hours, click on the image below and "Ask a Librarian."

Library Hours

Library SCHEDULE April 22-26:
Monday, April 22nd CLOSED
Special Hours: Tuesday-Wednesday-Thursday April 23-25 
7:30 a.m. to 4:30 pm
Friday, April 26 -- 7:30 a.m. to 1 p.m.
Normal Hours resume Monday, April 29

 

Monday - Thursday

7:30 a.m. - 7:30 p.m.

Friday

7:30 a.m. - 1 p.m.

Closed Saturday & Sunday

 

Hours vary during holidays and semester breaks.

Contact Us!

  • inside Johnson Building
  • (252) 249-1851 x3034
  • library@pamlicocc.edu

 

Search the Library Catalog for Books and Movies


Library to Search

Library Orientation

How to Get a Library Card

 Library Cards

Available to  
PCC students, faculty & staff.
**Distance Ed students: contact 
Library to obtain a library card**

Pamlico County residents 
who are 18 and over
may apply for a library card.

Apply in person.

http://www.visitmylibrary.org/images/content/library_card.png

Sample of items available from your library...

12 Strong: The Declassified True Story of the Horse Soldiers

12 Strong is the dramatic account of a small band of Special Forces soldiers who secretly entered Afghanistan following 9/11 and rode to war on horses against the Taliban. Outnumbered forty to one, they pursued the enemy army across the mountainous Afghanistan terrain.

Alexander Hamilton, Revolutionary

Complex, passionate, brilliant, flawed―Alexander Hamilton comes alive in this exciting biography. He was born out of wedlock on a small island in the West Indies and orphaned as a teenager. From those inauspicious circumstances, he rose to a position of power and influence in colonial America.

1001 Ways to Pay for College

Provides strategies for finding and winning scholarships, tax credits, asking for more financial aid, saving, student loan forgiveness, financial aid applications, state financial aid, military service, adult students, graduate students, and internships.

Abaddon's Gate

For generations, the solar system -- Mars, the Moon, the Asteroid Belt -- was humanity's great frontier. Until now. The alien artifact working through its program under the clouds of Venus has appeared in Uranus's orbit, where it has built a massive gate that leads to a starless dark.

The 15:17 to Paris

An ISIS terrorist planned to kill more than 500 people. He would have succeeded except for three American friends who refused to give in to fear.

The Amazon Way

Interested in innovating and creating a customer focused culture like Amazon? In The Amazon Way, Rossman introduces readers to the unique corporate culture of the world’s largest Internet retailer, with a focus on the fourteen leadership principles that have guided and shaped its decisions and its distinctive leadership culture.

The Devouring

Europe, 1944: Captain Billy Boyle and his friend Lieutenant Piotr “Kaz” Kazimierz are sent to neutral Switzerland to work with the Office of Strategic Services (OSS), investigating Swiss banks that are laundering looted Nazi gold.

Awkward

While modern social life can make even the best of us feel gawky, for roughly one in five of us, navigating its challenges is consistently overwhelming. Often unable to grasp social cues or master the skills and grace necessary for smooth interaction, we feel out of sync with those around us.

Be More Cat

In Be More Cat, Alison Davies explores nine key traits we can take on board to be more cat-like and live a happier, healthier, and all around 'feline fabulous' existence.

Best. State. Ever.

We never know what will happen next in Florida. We know only that, any minute now, something will. Every few months, Dave Barry gets a call from some media person wanting to know, “What the hell is wrong with Florida?” Somehow, the state's acquired an image as a subtropical festival of stupid, and as a loyal Floridian, Dave begs to differ.

The Bible Illuminated

Within The Bible Illuminated you will be introduced to kings and queens, monks and nuns, scribes and artists, librarians and historians, as well as modern-day collectors all hoping to preserve history by putting personal touches on their own copies of the most influential book of all time—the Bible.

The Blue and Gray Almanac

Albert Nofi tells the story of the American War through a range of insightful essays, anecdotes, and facts.

Caliban's War

In the vast wilderness of space, James Holden and the crew of the Rocinante have been keeping the peace for the Outer Planets Alliance. When they agree to help a scientist search war-torn Ganymede for a missing child, the future of humanity rests on whether a single ship can prevent an alien invasion that may have already begun . . .

Clueless in the Kitchen

Clueless in the Kitchen is designed for beginners -- and other time-challenged cooks -- who love good food, cooked from scratch, and have very little time for cooking.

A Companion to the History of Crime and Punishment

This companion addresses the history of crime and punishment through entries by expert contributors that select and define the central vocabulary and terminology for the study of the history of crime and punishment.

Composting Basics

Whether you live in the suburbs, country, or city, whether you have a garden or not, you can recycle household waste in an environmentally friendly way and turn it into black gold: compost. It’s simple and easy to do, and the best part is that you’ll be saving money and helping to save the earth as well.

A Cotswold Killing

Nestled in the fertile hills of the Cotswolds, the village of Duntisbourne Abbots is a well-kept secret: beautiful, timeless and quintessentially English. A Cotswold Killing takes the reader on a tense journey along winding roads and muddy paths towards a dramatic and unexpected denouement.

Cover-Up at Roswell

Cover-Up at Roswell catalogs the extreme measures the U.S. government exercised to suppress the truth. How they silenced military witnesses clearly demonstrates their need to prevent the facts from leaking out.

Dead Men Don't Ski

Dead Men Don't Ski introduces Inspector Henry Tibbett, a blissfully ordinary English copper with a pleasantly plump wife and a nose for the bad guys. Sadly for Henry (but happily for us) that nose has a knack of ruining his vacations.

Delivering Happiness

The visionary CEO of Zappos explains how an emphasis on corporate culture can lead to unprecedented success.

Dinner's in the Oven

This vibrant cookbook is a comprehensive guide to creating tasty and quick one pan meals for any time or day of the week. With 75 satisfying one pan meals, there is something for all friends and family to enjoy.

Encyclopedia of Mythology

A fascinating detailed A-Z reference to three ancient mythologies, sumptuously illustrated with 450 fine-art images.

Field Guide to the Birds of North America

With more than 2.75 million copies in print, this perennial bestseller is the most frequently updated of all North American bird field guides. Filled with hand-painted illustrations from top nature artists (including the ever-popular hummingbird), a must have for bird watchers

Fifty Years of 60 Minutes

Fifty Years of 60 Minutes tells the inside story of the legendary program, from its almost accidental birth through five decades of in-depth reporting by talented producers and beloved correspondents, including fatherly Harry Reasoner, hard-charging Mike Wallace, writer's-writer Morley Safer, soft-but-tough Ed Bradley, relentless Lesley Stahl, and illuminating storyteller Steve Kroft.

The Four

Amazon, Apple, Facebook, and Google are the four most influential companies on the planet. Just about everyone thinks they know how they got there. Just about everyone is wrong.

History of the U. S. Navy, Volume 2, 1942-1991

This sweeping recasting of American naval history is a bold departure from the conventional “sea power” approach. Volume Two of History of the U.S. Navy shows how the Navy in World War II helped to upset the traditional balance in Europe and Asia.

From Parents to Partners

Build collaborative partnerships with families to help the whole family thrive. This book explores the reasons and methods for developing cooperative partnerships, along with tools and strategies to help build the support network for family-centered care.

Ghostly Tales

This collection of tales transports the reader to a time when staircases creaked in old manor houses, and a candle could be blown out by a gust of wind, or by a passing ghost. Penned by some of the greatest Victorian novelists and masters of the ghost story genre, each story is illustrated with exquisitely eerie artwork.

Great American Shipwreck Stories

Great American Shipwreck Stories is a magnificent collection of gripping accounts of a ship's encounter with a great whale or an overwhelming monsoon or a disastrous passage through the Straits of Magellan, leading to a wreck and a crew's harrowing plight for survival on the open seas or on a desert island.

Great at Work

Why do some people perform better at work than others? This deceptively simple question continues to confound professionals in all sectors of the workforce. Now, after a unique, five-year study of more than 5,000 managers and employees, Morten Hansen reveals the answers in his “Seven Work Smarter Practices” that can be applied by anyone looking to maximize their time and performance.

Green Eggs and Ham

It takes much effort before Sam-I-am can convince another person to try green eggs and ham.

History of the U. S. Navy, Volume 1, 1775-1941

This is the exciting story of the American Navy and its important role in our nation’s history from the Revolutionary War to the dawn of the New World Order.

Hoax: a History of Deception

An entertaining collection of the most audacious and underhanded deceptions in the history of mankind, from sacred relics to financial schemes to fake art, music, and identities.

How to Make a Spaceship

Peter Diamandis was a dutiful son, but from the time he was eight years old, staying up late to watch Apollo 11 land on the moon, he had one goal: getting to space. But when he realized NASA was winding down manned space flight, he set out on one of the great entrepreneurial adventure stories of our time. If the government wouldn’t send him to space, he would create a private spaceflight industry and get there himself.

If I Understood You, Would I Have This Look on My Face?

This book reveals what it means to be a true communicator, and how we can communicate better, in every aspect of our lives—with our friends, lovers, and families, with our doctors, in business settings, and beyond.

Hubble's Universe

Contains more than 300 stunning images captured by the Hubble Space Telescope.

In the Company of Women

Over 100 exceptional and influential women describe how they embraced their creative spirit, overcame adversity, and sparked a global movement of entrepreneurship. Media titans and ceramicists, hoteliers and tattoo artists, comedians and architects.

The Internet of US

We used to say "seeing is believing"; now, googling is believing. With 24/7 access to nearly all of the world’s information at our fingertips, we no longer trek to the library or the encyclopedia shelf in search of answers.

The Illustrated Encyclopedia of the Kings and Queens of Britain

A lavishly illustrated history of the royalty and their families from Saxon times to today.

Leviathan Wakes

Two hundred years after migrating into space, mankind is in turmoil. When a reluctant ship's captain and washed-up detective find themselves involved in the case of a missing girl, what they discover brings our solar system to the brink of civil war, and exposes the greatest conspiracy in human history.

Miracle Brew

Although it’s the most popular alcoholic drink on the planet, few people know what beer is made of. In lively and witty fashion, Miracle Brew dives into traditional beer’s four natural ingredients: malted barley, hops, yeast, and water, each of which has an incredible story to tell.

Naked Economics

Demystifying buzzwords, laying bare the truths behind oft-quoted numbers, and answering the questions you were always too embarrassed to ask, the breezy Naked Economics gives readers the tools they need to engage with pleasure and confidence in the deeply relevant, not so dismal science.

NFL Football

This wide-ranging history synthesizes scholarship and media sources to give the reader an inside view of the television contracts, labor issues, and other off-the-field forces that shaped the National Football League.

Online Filter Bubbles

Every time we check our feeds we create safety bubbles around ourselves. Thanks to technological algorithms, we are living an increasingly narrow existence, one in which the news we read, the products we purchase, and the people we interact with are tailor-made for each of us.

The Norton Anthology of English Literature: The Major Authors Volume 1

Firmly grounded by the hallmark strengths of all Norton Anthologies, and with the apparatus you trust, The Norton Anthology of English Literature sets the standard and remains an unmatched value.

The Occult Book

Take an enlightening journey through occult history, exploring 100 dramatic incidents, arcane knowledge, and key historical figures from around the world. John Michael Greer delves into two millennia of tradition, from the earliest alchemists to pagan rituals.

The Norton Anthology of English Literature: The Major Authors Volume 2

Firmly grounded by the hallmark strengths of all Norton Anthologies, and with the apparatus you trust, The Norton Anthology of English Literature sets the standard and remains an unmatched value.

The Online Teaching Survival Guide

The Online Teaching Survival Guide provides a robust overview of theory-based techniques for teaching online or technology-enhanced courses.

Onward

In 2008, Howard Schultz decided to return as the CEO of Starbucks to help restore its financial health and bring the company back to its core values.

Pirates and Privateers

Pirates and Privateers delves into the real lives of these men and women, whose seafaring adventures have become legendary. It explores the criminal careers of some of the most fascinating scoundrels and scallywags in history, including Blackbeard, the Barbarossa Brothers, Captain Kidd, Anne Bonney and Mary Read.

Otherworlds

Otherworlds is a record of humanity’s planetary exploration and a tribute to the stunning beauty of our solar system. We start in low Earth orbit and then move on to the Moon and our planetary neighbors, Mars and Venus. We then explore Mercury and the Sun before traveling to the gas giants of the outer solar system—Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, and Neptune—and onward to Pluto.

Prescription Drugs

Abuse of prescriptions can have hazardous or even deadly consequences, which readers discover in great detail. Enlightening charts and sidebars augment the discussion of prescription drug abuse.

Protecting Your Internet Identity

People research everything online – shopping, school, jobs, travel – and other people. Your online persona is your new front door. It is likely the first thing that new friends and colleagues learn about you.

The Red Atlas

Russia’s access to detailed information on the United States and its allies may not seem so shocking in this day of data clouds and leaks, but long before we had satellite imagery of any neighborhood at a finger’s reach, the amount the Soviet government knew about your family’s city, street, and even your home would astonish you.

The Planets

This magnificent volume offers a rich visual tour of the planets in our solar system. More than 200 breathtaking photographs from the archives of NASA are paired with extended captions detailing the science behind some of our cosmic neighborhood's most extraordinary phenomena.

The Renaissance

The Renaissance holds an undying place in our imagination, its great heroes still our own, from Michelangelo and Leonardo to Dante and Chaucer. This period of profound evolution in European thought is credited with transforming the West from medieval to modern and producing the most astonishing outpouring of artistic creation the world has ever known.

Rise of the Dungeon Master

Rise of the Dungeon Master tells, in graphic form, the story of Gary Gygax, co-creator of Dungeons & Dragons, one of the most influential games ever made. Like the game itself, the narrative casts the reader into the adventure from a first person point of view, taking on the roles of the different characters in the story.

Revolution Song

In his epic new book, Russell Shorto draws on diaries, letters and autobiographies to flesh out six lives that cast the era in a fresh new light. They include an African man who freed himself and his family from slavery, a rebellious young woman who abandoned her abusive husband to chart her own course and a certain Mr. Washington, who was admired for his social graces but harshly criticized for his often-disastrous military strategy.

Secret Weapons of World War II

Here are the extraordinary tales behind the ingenious weapons and technological wizardry that determined the outcome of the war.

Shame Nation

Online shame comes in many forms, and it's surprising how much of an effect a simple tweet might have on your business, love life, or school peers. A rogue tweet might bring down a CEO; an army of trolls can run an individual off-line; and virtual harassment might cause real psychological damage.

Slugfest

THEY ARE THE TWO TITANS OF THE COMIC BOOK INDUSTRY--the Coke and Pepsi of superheroes--and for more than 50 years, Marvel and DC have been locked in an epic battle for spandex supremacy.

Soonish

What will the world of tomorrow be like? How does progress happen? And why do we not have a lunar colony already? What is the hold-up?

Stress Teflon

Luke and Mick’s compelling explanation of stress and its benefits will help you understand how we tick and use that understanding to improve your productivity, your relationships, and your outlook on life’s challenges

The Sunken Sailor

Poor Inspector Tibbett! Once again, he is attempting to have a nice vacation. And once again, Crime has a different idea. This time, Tibbett and his cheerful wife, Emmy, are lazing on a friend's yacht, tacking from one little English sea-town to the next, and it should all be delicious indolence…except that Henry can't stop thinking about the death of a local sailor.

Survival

In Surivival, a human team sent to scout a few hundred lightyears in front of the death wave encounters a civilization far in advance of our own, a civilization of machine intelligences.

There Is No Good Card for This

This thoughtful, instructive guide, from empathy expert Dr. Kelsey Crowe and greeting card maverick Emily McDowell, blends well-researched, actionable advice with the no-nonsense humor and the signature illustration style of McDowell's immensely popular Empathy Cards.

A Treacherous Coast

Winter 1795. Lieutenant John Pearce, reckoning to have finally ditched his old enemy, Admiral Hotham, has found a new one in Henry Digby, previously a friend. Meanwhile, Pearce’s pregnant and recently widowed lover is adamant they cannot be seen together for the sake of their unborn child as she seeks respectability in society.

The Ultimate Baseball Road Trip

The most entertaining and comprehensive guide to every baseball fan’s dream road trip—including every new ballpark since the 2004 edition—revised and completely updated!

The War on Cops

Violent crime has been rising sharply in many American cities after two decades of decline. Homicides jumped nearly 17 percent in 2015 in the largest 50 cities, the biggest one-year increase since 1993.

Welcome to the Farm.

The homesteading movement is continuing to grow, as more people are stepping up to have a hand in where their food comes from. Whether you want to dabble or immerse yourself completely in the do-it-yourself, back-to-basics lifestyle, Welcome to the Farm is a comprehensive, fully illustrated guide to growing the very best food right in your own backyard.

When a Billion Chinese Jump

Traveling from the mountains of Tibet to the deserts of Inner Mongolia via the Silk Road, tiger farms, cancer villages, weather-modifying bases, and eco-cities, Watts chronicles the environmental impact of economic growth with a series of gripping stories from the country on the front line of global development.

The World Almanac and Book of Facts 2018

Since 1868, this compendium of information has been the authoritative source for all your entertainment, reference, and learning needs.

The World Encyclopedia of Fish and Shellfish

A detailed visual directory of seafood varieties, preparation and cooking, with 100 enticing recipes.

Greatest Road Trips of the World

If you’ve ever dreamed of completing an epic journey behind the wheel, The 50 Greatest Road Trips is for you. Packed full of the world’s most exotic, exciting and iconic road-trips, this compelling read will have you reaching for a road map. Informative first-hand accounts and engaging descriptions of routes across the Americas, Asia, Europe and Africa showcase the ultimate in car adventures.

The American Revolution

Beginning with the first stirrings of colonial resistance, The American Revolution presents illustrated accounts of every major military action and comprehensive timelines for every stage of the war. Revealing first-person accounts by soldiers and civilians and profiles of the war's main protagonists, from George Washington to Benedict Arnold.

American on Purpose

Craig Ferguson delivers a moving and achingly funny memoir of living the American dream as he journeys from the mean streets of Glasgow, Scotland, to the comedic promised land of Hollywood.

Among the Headhunters

Flying the notorious "Hump" route between India and China in 1943, a twin-engine plane suffered mechanical failure and crashed in a dense mountain jungle, deep within Japanese-held territory. Against the odds, all but one of the twenty-one people aboard the doomed aircraft survived. But they fell from the frying pan into the fire.

Andrew Jackson and the Miracle of New Orleans

The War of 1812 saw America threatened on every side. Encouraged by the British, Indian tribes attacked settlers in the West, while the Royal Navy terrorized the coasts. By mid-1814, President James Madison’s generals had lost control of the war in the North, losing battles in Canada. Then British troops set the White House ablaze, and a feeling of hopelessness spread across the country.

Art

Art: A Visual History is the complete visual guide to Western art. How to tell Impressionism from Expressionism, a Degas from a Monet, early Medieval art from early Christian? Art: A Visual History explains it all — painting, sculpture, great artists, styles, and schools — and will help you answer the question, "What makes great art?"

Bread Making

Treat your friends and family to freshly baked ciabatta, challah, English muffins, naan, brioche, and more. Even complete beginners can successfully bake their own bread with this encouraging in-depth course.

Brothers at War

Sixty years after North Korean troops crossed the 38th parallel into South Korea, the Korean War has not yet ended. At the center of this conflict is an ongoing struggle between North and South Korea for the mantle of Korean legitimacy, a "brother’s war," which continues to fuel tensions on the Korean peninsula and the region.

The Cat Encyclopedia

More than 86 million Americans own at least one cat (that's 10+ million more than own a dog). Cats are truly Americans' favorite pets.

Offering everything you need to know about cats in one easy-reference volume,The Cat Encyclopedia features stunning photographs of cat breeds from around the world combined with expert advice on kitten and cat care, and a celebration of cats in art and culture.

Classic Car

From the Aston Martin DB5 to the Chevrolet Corvette, Classic Car is packed with the marques and models of every decade from the 1940s to the 1980s. Virtual tours offer close-up views of iconic models, and comprehensive catalogs showcase key features with detailed profiles and specifications.

The Complete Trailer Sailor

Trailer sailers--the smallest, most economical sailboats with sleeping accommodations--are a popular platform for learning the basics of sailing and are often considered to be the entry level to cruising under sail.

Crime Scene Management

This book provides standards for how to manage a crime scene so that evidence is collected and preserved without errors and includes guidelines for how to implement the standards and set up regional training programs for smaller jurisdictions with tighter budgets.

The Dog Encyclopedia

With an extensive photographic catalog of more than 400 dog breeds, organized by to FCI groupings, each profile describes the breed's uses and character, lists compatible owner traits, and shares fascinating facts about the breed's origins.

Chemistry

Easy Chemistry Step-by-Step is based on the idea that the quickest route to learning this subject is building a solid foundation in the basics. You won't find a lot of pointless discussion; instead, you get an original, step-by-step approach to mastering chemistry, with important concepts linked together by clear explanations, appropriate exercises, and helpful answers.

Star Wars Encyclopedia of Starfighters and Other Vehicles

Don't know your X-wing from your Y-wing? Not sure what type of craft Slave I is? Look no further than the Star Wars Encyclopedia of Starfighters and Other Vehicles.

Fishing

Introduces fishing, describing equipment and gear, bait, methods, places to fish, and fishing adventures.

Forward the Foundation

An exciting tale of danger, intrigue, and suspense, Forward The Foundation brings to vivid life Asimov's best loved characters: hero Hari Seldon, who struggles to perfect his revolutionary theory of psychohistory to ensure the survival of humanity; Cleon II, the vain and crafty emperor of the Galactic Empire.

Gem

From diamonds and sapphires to emeralds and obsidian, Gem profiles all the key gemstones and other precious materials. Its stunning images show the jewels in their different cuts, colors, and uses.

Good Omens

There is a distinct hint of Armageddon in the air. According to The Nice and Accurate Prophecies of Agnes Nutter, Witch (recorded, thankfully, in 1655, before she blew up her entire village and all its inhabitants, who had gathered to watch her burn), the world will end on a Saturday. Next Saturday, in fact.

The Greatest College Football Rivalries of All Time

College football is one of the most popular sports in the United States. Rivalry games bring out the passion, the rituals, and even the rage of football fans across the country. Whether based on history and tradition, or proximity and local pride, college rivalry games have an intensity unmatched by any other sporting event.

Health Visiting

This book considers the public health role of the health visitor, and the important role and responsibilities the health visitor has with safeguarding children to ensure the child has the best possible start in life.

Heart of Europe

The Holy Roman Empire lasted a thousand years, far longer than ancient Rome. Yet this formidable dominion never inspired the awe of its predecessor. Voltaire distilled the disdain of generations when he quipped it was neither holy, Roman, nor an empire.

Human Anatomy

For students of anatomy, biology, and the biomedical sciences; medical professionals; and curious families, DK's Human Anatomy will be a definitive resource.

An Illustrated Encyclopedia of Uniforms of World War II

An expert visual history of military personnel, with 600 images of uniforms and contextual analysis.

The Importance of Being Little

To a four-year-old watching bulldozers at a construction site or chasing butterflies in flight, the world is awash with promise. Little children come into the world hardwired to learn in virtually any setting and about any matter.

Knitting

An introduction to knitting provides information on equipment and basic stitches, and offers directions for making a finger puppet, a cowl collar, fingerless gloves, and other projects, and for dealing with knitting errors.

Life along the Inner Coast

Life along the Inner Coast is a guide to the plants, animals, and habitats found in one of the most biologically diverse regions on the planet. It is a valuable resource for naturalists, students, and anyone who lives or vacations along the Atlantic inner coast.

The Long Cosmos

The thrilling conclusion to the internationally bestselling Long Earth series explores the greatest question of all: What is the meaning of life?

2070-71. Nearly six decades after Step Day, a new society continues to evolve in the Long Earth. Now, a message has been received: “Join us.”

Maps That Changed the World

From beautifully engraved sixteenth-century Dutch maps to sinister Nazi maps, this stunning compendium features some of the most famous cartography ever created.

Mobile Forensics Investigation

Conduct mobile forensic investigations that are legal, ethical, and highly effective using the detailed information contained in this practical guide.

National Geographic Atlas of Beer

The most comprehensive beer atlas available, this richly illustrated compendium includes more beers and more countries than any other book of its kind.

The Long Earth

An unmissable milestone for fans of Sir Terry Pratchett: the first SF novel in over three decades in which the visionary inventor of Discworld has created a new universe of tantalizing possibilities—a series of parallel “Earths” with doorways leading to adventure, intrigue, excitement, and an escape into the furthest reaches of the imagination.

Norse Mythology

In Norse Mythology, Gaiman stays true to the myths in envisioning the major Norse pantheon: Odin, the highest of the high, wise, daring, and cunning; Thor, Odin’s son, incredibly strong yet not the wisest of gods; and Loki―son of a giant―blood brother to Odin and a trickster and unsurpassable manipulator.

Nursing Laboratory and Diagnostic Tests Demystified

Nursing Laboratory & Diagnostic Tests Demystified, Second Edition offers a clear, step-by-step blueprint to understanding the laboratory and diagnostic tests most often performed by nurses.

Ocean

Ocean includes an atlas of the world's oceans and seas compiled using satellite data, brand-new 3-D Earth modeling, and remarkable photography of the marine world that explores the interaction between people and the ocean environment.

The Oxford Illustrated History of Science

The Oxford Illustrated History of Science is the first-ever fully illustrated global history of science, from Aristotle to the atom bomb - and beyond.

The Permaculture Promise

The Permaculture Promise explains in simple terms why permaculture may be the key to unlocking a livable future on our planet.

The Road to Madness

The NCAA men's basketball tournament is one of the iconic events in American sports. In this fast-paced, in-depth account, J. Samuel Walker and Randy Roberts identify the 1973–74 season as pivotal in the making of this now legendary postseason tournament.

Revelation Space

Nine hundred thousand years ago, something annihilated the Amarantin civilization just as it was on the verge of discovering space flight. Now one scientist, Dan Sylveste, will stop at nothing to solve the Amarantin riddle before ancient history repeats itself.

Russian Roulette

Russian Roulette tells the spectacular and harrowing story of the British spies in revolutionary Russia and their mission to stop Lenin's red tide from washing across the free world.

Sailing a Serious Ocean

In Sailing a Serious Ocean, John tells you what to expect when sailing the oceans and shows how to sail safely across them. His tales of storm encounters and other examples of extreme seamanship will help you prepare for your journey and give you confidence to handle any situation―even heavy weather.

The Science Book

The Science Book is an inventive visual take on astronomy, biology, chemistry, geology, and physics.

The Science Fiction Hall of Fame, 1929-1964

The definitive collection of the best in science fiction stories between 1929-1964. This book contains twenty-six of the greatest science fiction stories ever written.

The Complete Sherlock Holmes

Though endlessly reinterpreted, reinvented, and imitated, the Sherlock Holmes stories have never been surpassed. Sporting his signature billowing coat and pipe in hand, the genius investigator Holmes captivates readers with his alluring melancholy and superhuman intuition, while his partner, Dr. Watson, remains ever the perfect foil, a classic Victorian gentleman with brilliant intellect.

Ships of Oak, Guns of Iron

The War of 1812 is typically noted for a handful of events: the burning of the White House, the rise of the Star Spangled Banner, and the battle of New Orleans. But in fact the greatest consequence of that distant conflict was the birth of the U.S. Navy.

The Tibetan Book of the Dead

The first complete translation of a classic Buddhist text on the journey through living and dying.

The Star Trek Book

Celebrate 50 years of one of the longest running and beloved sci-fi franchises with The Star Trek Book. This comprehensive guide to the series delves into the myriad worlds and different dimensions visited by the crew of the U.S.S. Enterprise.

The Time Traveler's Guide to Medieval England

The Time Traveler’s Guide to Medieval England is not your typical look at a historical period. This radical new approach shows us that the past is not just something to be studied; it is also something to be lived.

The Vietnam War

A divisive and destructive event, the Vietnam War was the world's first televised war, and photographs from its front lines powerfully convey war's complex reality.

What's That Tree?

From mighty redwoods and stately pines, to beautiful cherry blossoms and dependable oaks, What's that Tree? helps identify commonly found trees and is the perfect addition to every family's library.

The View from the Cheap Seats

The View from the Cheap Seats brings together for the first time ever more than sixty pieces of Neil Gaiman's outstanding nonfiction. Analytical yet playful, erudite yet accessible, this cornucopia explores a broad range of interests and topics.

The Wine Bible

Like a lively course from an expert teacher, The Wine Bible grounds the reader deeply in the fundamentals while layering on informative asides, tips, amusing anecdotes, definitions, glossaries, photos (all new for this edition), maps, labels, and recommended bottles.

The Battle for North Carolina's Coast

The North Carolina barrier islands, a 325-mile-long string of narrow sand islands that forms the coast of North Carolina, are one of the most beloved areas to live and visit in the United States. However, extensive barrier island segments and their associated wetlands are in jeopardy.

Blue Ridge Music Trails of North Carolina

The Blue Ridge Mountains of North Carolina are the heart of a region where traditional music and dance are performed and celebrated as nowhere else in America. This guide puts readers on the trail to discover many sites where the unique musical legacy thrives, covering bluegrass and stringband music, clogging, and other traditional forms of music and dance.

Fishing North Carolina's Outer Banks

In this hands-on, how-to guide to fishing North Carolina's Outer Banks, expert fisherman Stan Ulanski combines his enthusiasm, his experience, and his scientific expertise to show anglers how to catch more fish.

Literary Trails of the North Carolina Mountains

Organized geographically through a series of eighteen half-day and day-long tours in the western part of the state, the book directs curious travelers to the historic sites where Tar Heel authors have lived and worked.

North Carolina's Roadside Eateries

A guide to more than 100 notable local roadway haunts that serve not only as places to eat but also as fixtures of their communities.

Tar Heel History on Foot

This lively collection of 34 of the best history walks in North Carolina highlights the richness and diversity of the state's history, from the time of its first settlement to the present.

Carolina Catch

This cookbook unlocks for everyone the fresh tastes of North Carolina grilled tuna, steamed shrimp, pan-seared mountain trout, fried catfish, and baked littleneck clams, to name just a few of the culinary treasures sourced from the waters of a state that stretches from the mountains to the sea.

Deep Run Roots

Organized by ingredient with dishes suited to every skill level--from beginners to confident cooks--features time-honored simple preparations alongside extraordinary meals. Home cooks will find photographs for every single recipe.

Eastern North Carolina Sayings

Growing up in eastern North Carolina's tobacco country, author Phil Beaman has been surrounded by country folk and their colorful language his entire life. Though these communities continue to change, the bond of their phrases, expressions, colloquialisms and just plain talk has remained within the hearts and minds of their people.

North Carolina's Outer Banks

Detailed reviews of lodging, dining, and recreation, plus outfitters, campsites, trails, and point of historic and cultural interest make this book the indispensable companion to the incomparable Outer Banks region.

New Bern and the Civil War

On March 14, 1862, Federal forces under the command of General Ambrose Burnside overwhelmed Confederate forces in the Battle of New Bern, capturing the town and its important seaport.

Tales from the North Carolina Tar Heels Locker Room

Tales from the North Carolina Tar Heels Locker Room captures the anecdotes and memories that have defined this team from the early twentieth century up through their incredible success in the 2000s and beyond.

Rail Depots of Eastern North Carolina

Railroads have been an integral part of North Carolina since the 1850s, allowing goods and people to travel across the state or to other areas of the country. For many years, the main focus of small towns and large cities in the state was the railroad depots.

A Nutshell History of North Carolina

From its dubious beginnings as a pirate-filled colony to a popular tourist destination, North Carolina has an amazingly colorful history.

North Carolina's Barrier Islands

In this stunning book, nature photographer and ecologist David Blevins offers an inspiring visual journey to North Carolina's barrier islands as you have never seen them before.

North Carolina Craft Beer and Breweries

Boasting more craft breweries than any other state in the South, North Carolina is the state of Southern beer. In 2012, Erik Lars Myers wrote North Carolina Craft Beer & Breweries, which profiled 45 breweries. Since then, the number of breweries has more than tripled to over 140 and is still growing.

The Medieval Castle Manual

The Haynes Medieval Castle Manual explores the background story to castle construction in Medieval Europe, showing that castles had both a domestic and defensive function.

25 Myths That Are Destroying the Environment

What may seem like an environmentally conscious action may very well be bringing about the unnatural destruction of habitats and ecosystems.

AI Superpowers: China, Silicon Valley, and the New World Order

Dr. Kai-Fu Lee reveals that China has suddenly caught up to the US at an astonishingly rapid and unexpected pace.

Accessory to War: The Unspoken Alliance Between Astrophysics and the Military

Spanning early celestial navigation to satellite-enabled warfare, Accessory to War is a richly researched and provocative examination of the intersection of science, technology, industry and power.

Accidentally Like a Martyr: The Tortured Art of Warren Zevon

James Campion presents 13 essays on seminal Zevon songs and albums that provide context to the themes inspirations and influence of one of America's most literate songwriters.

DK Aircraft

From the first prototypes of flying machines to today's supersonic jets, the history and roles of aircraft are explored in this beautifully illustrated guide.

Alfred Hitchcock's Mystery Magazine Presents Fifty Years of Crime and Suspense

This celebratory anthology features such bestselling writers as Lawrence Block, Ed McBain, and Jan Burke, just three of the esteemed contributors to have appeared in the magazine’s pages over the past five decades.

Allies: Roosevelt, Churchill, Stalin, and the Unlikely Alliance That Won World War II

By the end of World War II, 59 nations were arrayed against the axis powers, but three great Allied leaders–Franklin Roosevelt, Winston Churchill, and Joseph Stalin–had emerged to control the war in Europe and the Pacific.

Art Deco

This book draws our attention back to the birth of Art Deco―a period between two devastating world wars when industrialization was flourishing, interest in archaeology was peaking, and movements such as Cubism, Constructivism, Futurism, and Modernism were turning the art world on its head.

Atomic City Girls: a novel

In November 1944, eighteen-year-old June Walker boards an unmarked bus, destined for a city that doesn’t officially exist. Oak Ridge, Tennessee has sprung up in a matter of months—a town of trailers and segregated houses, 24-hour cafeterias, and constant security checks. There, June joins hundreds of other young girls operating massive machines whose purpose is never explained. They know they are helping to win the war, but must ask no questions and reveal nothing to outsiders.

Babel: Around the World in Twenty Languages

English is the world language, except that most of the world doesn't speak it--only one in five people does. Gaston Dorren calculates that to speak fluently with half of the world's 7.4 or so billion people in their mother tongues, you would need to know no fewer than twenty languages.

Brief Answers to the Big Questions

Stephen Hawking not only unraveled some of the universe’s greatest mysteries but also believed science plays a critical role in fixing problems here on Earth. Now, as we face immense challenges on our planet—including climate change, the threat of nuclear war, and the development of artificial intelligence—he turns his attention to the most urgent issues facing us.

A Christmas Carol (Illustrated by Brett Helquist)

In this luminous picture book adaptation of Charles Dickens' immortal classic, the story of Ebenezer Scrooge leaps off the page to warm the soul of one and all. Be swept away in an unforgettable Christmas Eve, from Scrooge's first "Bah, humbug!" to the arrival of the Ghost of Christmas Past; from the courage of Tiny Tim to the glory of Christmas morning. 

Depth of Winter

Welcome to Walt Longmire's worst nightmare. In Craig Johnson's latest mystery an international hit man and the head of one of the most vicious drug cartels in Mexico has kidnapped Walt's beloved daughter, Cady, to auction her off to his worst enemies, of which there are many. The American government is of limited help and the Mexican one even less. Walt heads into the one-hundred-and-ten degree heat of the Northern Mexican desert alone, one man against an army.

Every Breath

Hope Anderson is at a crossroads. At thirty-six, she's been dating her boyfriend, an orthopedic surgeon, for six years. With no wedding plans in sight, and her father recently diagnosed with ALS, she decides to use a week at her family's cottage in Sunset Beach, North Carolina, to ready the house for sale and mull over some difficult decisions about her future

Everything All at Once: How to Unleash Your Inner Nerd, Tap into Radical Curiosity and Solve Any Problem

This is the story of how Bill Nye became Bill Nye and how he became a champion of change and an advocate of science. It’s how he became The Science Guy. Bill teaches us that we have the power to make real change. Join him in... dare we say it... changing the world.

Ferries of North Carolina: Traveling the State's Nautical Highways

Part travel journal, part travel guide, THE FERRIES OF NORTH CAROLINA is the first comprehensive guide to all the state's passenger and vehicle ferries, covering waterways from the Cape Fear River to Currituck Sound. Each of the state's 17 coastal and river routes is described in full detail, including directions to landings, scheduleand fare information, a guide to shore facilities and nearby accommodations and attractions, plus interviews, anecdotes, and observations based on years of firsthand experience.

Glimmer of Hope: How Tragedy Sparked a Movement

In keeping up with their ongoing fight to end gun-violence in all communities, the student leaders of March for Our Lives have decided not to be paid as authors of the book. 100% of net proceeds from this book will be paid to March For Our Lives Action Fund.

I Am Dynamite!: A Life of Nietzsche

Friedrich Nietzsche is one of the most enigmatic figures in philosophy, and his concepts—the Übermensch, the will to power, slave morality—have fundamentally reshaped our understanding of the human condition. But what do most people really know of Nietzsche—beyond the mustache, the scowl, and the lingering association with nihilism and fascism? Where do we place a thinker who was equally beloved by Albert Camus, Ayn Rand, Martin Buber, and Adolf Hitler?

Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up: The Japanese Art of Decluttering and Organizing

Japanese cleaning consultant Marie Kondo takes tidying to a whole new level, promising that if you properly simplify and organize your home once, you’ll never have to do it again. Most methods advocate a room-by-room or little-by-little approach, which doom you to pick away at your piles of stuff forever. The KonMari Method, with its revolutionary category-by-category system, leads to lasting results.

Origin

Robert Langdon, Harvard professor of symbology, arrives at the ultramodern Guggenheim Museum Bilbao to attend the unveiling of a discovery that “will change the face of science forever.” The evening’s host is Edmond Kirsch, a forty-year-old billionaire and futurist, and one of Langdon’s first students. 

The Outsider

An eleven-year-old boy’s violated corpse is found in a town park. Eyewitnesses and fingerprints point unmistakably to one of Flint City’s most popular citizens. He is Terry Maitland, Little League coach, English teacher, husband, and father of two girls. Detective Ralph Anderson, whose son Maitland once coached, orders a quick and very public arrest. Maitland has an alibi, but Anderson and the district attorney soon add DNA evidence to go with the fingerprints and witnesses. Their case seems ironclad.

Personality Brokers: The Strange History of Myers-Briggs and the Birth of Personality Testing

An unprecedented history of the personality test conceived a century ago by a mother and her daughter–fiction writers with no formal training in psychology–and how it insinuated itself into our boardrooms, classrooms, and beyond.

Stan Lee: The Man behind Marvel

From the mean streets of Depression-era New York City to recipient of the National Medal of Arts, Lee’s life has been almost as remarkable as the thrilling adventures he spun for decades. From millions of comic books fans of the 1960s through billions of moviegoers around the globe, Stan Lee has touched more people than almost any person in the history of popular culture. 

Turbo Twenty-Three (Stephanie Plum Series #23)

Larry Virgil skipped out on his latest court date after he was arrested for hijacking an eighteen-wheeler full of premium bourbon. Fortunately for bounty hunter Stephanie Plum, Larry is just stupid enough to attempt almost the exact same crime again. Only this time he flees the scene, leaving behind a freezer truck loaded with Bogart ice cream and a dead body frozen solid and covered in chocolate and chopped pecans. 

Explore NC Live

America's News by Newsbank

Library Staff

Paul Goodson, Director of Library Services

  • pgoodson@pamlicocc.edu
  • 252-249-1851 x3033

Sue Payne, Library Assistant

  • spayne@pamlicocc.edu
  • 252-249-1851 x3034

Jeremy Lachman, Evening Library Assistant & Departmental Communications Coordinator

  • jlachman@pamlicocc.edu
  • 252-249-1851 x3034